Senator Tim Kaine Supports Federal Employees

“I strongly support the goal of a compromise on the budget that allows Congress to repeal or replace the across-the-board, nonsensical cuts due to sequestration. But I strongly believe we can achieve this goal without targeting federal employees who have already been impacted by multiple deficit reduction efforts in the past.”

Sen. Tim Kaine. Read more of his letter to Sen. Murray and Rep. Ryan here:

Five things to know about the Ryan-Murray budget conference committee

Five things to know about the Ryan-Murray budget conference committee

The government shutdown is over. That means the work is just beginning for a group of lawmakers tasked with hashing out a long-term budget deal.

The group, led by Senate Budget Committee Chair Patty Murray (D-Wash.) and her House counterpart Paul Ryan (R-Wis.), was formed as part of the deal to reopen the government and raise the debt ceiling. Murray and Ryan kicked off talks over breakfast Thursday morning.

(Win McNamee/Getty Images)(Win McNamee/Getty Images)

Here’s what you need to know about the group, which the country will have a close eye on during the next couple of months:

1. It has 29 members. The bipartisan, bicameral group includes the entire Senate Budget Committee, as well as four House Republicans and three House Democrats. Here’s the full list:

House Republicans: 
Rep. Tom Cole (Okla.)
Rep. Tom Price (Ga.)
Rep. Diane Black (Tenn.)

House Democrats:
Rep. James Clyburn (S.C.)
Rep. Chris Van Hollen (Md.)
Rep. Nita Lowey (N.Y.)

Senate Republicans:
Sen. Jeff Sessions (Ala.)
Sen. Charles Grassley (Iowa)
Sen. Mike Enzi (Wyo.)
Sen. Mike Crapo (Idaho)
Sen. Lindsey Graham (S.C.)
Sen. Rob Portman (Ohio)
Sen. Pat Toomey (Pa.)
Sen. Ron Johnson (Wis.)
Sen. Kelly Ayotte (N.H.)
Sen. Roger Wicker (Miss.)

From Senate Democratic Caucus: 
Sen. Ron Wyden (Ore.)
Sen. Bill Nelson (Fla.)
Sen. Debbie Stabenow (Mich.)
Sen. Bernie Sanders (Vt.)
Sen. Sheldon Whitehouse (R.I.)
Sen. Mark Warner (Va.)
Sen. Jeff Merkley (Ore.)
Sen. Chris Coons (Del.)
Sen. Tammy Baldwin (Wis.)
Sen. Tim Kaine (Va.)
Sen. Angus King (Maine) Continue reading “Five things to know about the Ryan-Murray budget conference committee”

Whats at Stake?

IMPORTANT: This information should not be downloaded using government equipment, read during duty time or sent to others using government equipment, because it suggests action to be taken in support of and/or against legislation. Do not list your government email or government address in filling out this message, and do not use a government provided phone for this action.

I applaud everyone’s great work in reelecting President Obama.  You helped make the difference.

And we need to celebrate our great victories in tough Senate races across the country: Sherrod Brown (OH), Elizabeth Warren (MA), Tammy Baldwin (WI),  Tim Kaine (VA), Claire McCaskill (MO), Joe Donnelly (IN), Chris Murphy (CT), Martin Heinrich (NM), Jon Tester (MT) Mazie Hirono (HI), and Heidi Heitkamp (ND).

Celebrate today!  Then we need you to roll up your sleeves and call your lawmakers tomorrow! The Lame Duck Session of Congress begins next Tuesday and there’s a lot at stake for federal employees.

Watch this short video we just made about the Lame Duck session.

Then use your personal cell phone or home phone to call both your Senators and your Representative toll free at 1-888-659-9401. Tell your three lawmakers:

•    End the Bush Tax Cuts for the richest 2%
•    Oppose any more cuts to critical services
•    Oppose any more cuts to federal pay and pensions
•    Oppose any changes to Social Security and Medicare

You and voters across the country soundly rejected the Romney/Ryan plan yesterday.  Our country needs tax fairness – not tax breaks for the very rich.  We need to continue rebuilding America.  And we start tomorrow. Your calls will get us in the fight, brothers and sisters.

Call your three lawmakers right now, toll free at: 1-888-659-9401.

Again, I applaud all of your hard work and look forward to all that we will do together in the weeks ahead.

In Solidarity,
J. David Cox, Sr.
AFGE National President


%d bloggers like this: